RSS

Why NaNo?

17 Oct

nano1The other day I saw a post on 4 reasons not to take part in NaNoWriMo. That’s National Novel Writing Month (November) for those of you who don’t know. I didn’t read the article but I probably could have told you the reasons, I’ve probably even spouted them at one time or another. And that’s cool. NaNo is not for everyone. Some folks just can’t write that way. Again, that’s cool.

But here’s some reasons to take part.

You learn to write on a consistent basis. To finish NaNo with a complete novel, you have to write every day or at least most days. I take Sunday off…just too¬† much other stuff to do.

You learn to make writing a priority. So many times, writing is one off the least important things on my to do list and doesn’t get done. With NaNo, it’s important and gets done first thing.

Writing a novel during NaNo requires you put the inner editor away. I don’t know about you, but I wrestle with my inner editor all the time. She hates drecky first drafts but during NaNo, I send her on vacation and give myself permission to write dreck. After all, you can’t fix what you don’t write.

It’s a chance for us to push our limits and see just what we can accomplish.

Most importantly, at the end of November, if you’ve worked at it…you have a novel. No, it won’t be a great novel, it will be a first draft so rough you can use it for sandpaper but you will have a novel. And that’s a very good thing.

Again, you can’t fix what you don’t write. Remember, great novels are not written, they’re rewritten. So, head over to the NaNo website, sign up and join in the fun.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2013 in NaNoWriMo

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Why NaNo?

  1. Ashlee

    October 17, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    Good luck in November! I read this quote in the NaNo prep forums, but I can’t remember who said it. “There’s a certain amount of bad writing that you have to get out of the way.” I keep repeating this to myself. The whole month of November may be bad writing, but at least we’ll be working at it. 50K or bust!

     
    • jeanlauzier

      October 17, 2013 at 3:16 pm

      Good luck to you too. And yeah, give yourself permission to write dreck…no one is going to read it but you. You can always fix it later. :-)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,485 other followers

